Coverart for item
The Resource Clara, Kurt Palka

Clara, Kurt Palka

Label
Clara
Title
Clara
Statement of responsibility
Kurt Palka
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Inspired by a true story and based on a wealth of family documents, this elegant and compelling novel chronicles the lives of two families from the 1930s through the coming of the Nazis and World War II, and the long, difficult post-War period to the present. A must-read for fans of Irene Nemirovsky, Hans Fallada, and Bernhard Schlink's The Reader. This vividly realized, masterfully executed novel is a window into a little-explored corner of history. Patient Number 7 is a story of love between an aristocratic young woman and the cavalry officer -- later Panzer officer in the German army -- she marries; between friends who help each other through the Nazi takeover of Austria, the war, and what was sometimes worse, the "liberation"; between a mother and her two very different daughters. But it is also the story of a nation's darkest days, and its slow recovery during one of the most convulsive, violent periods of human history. Beautifully written, haunting, and ultimately redemptive, it is a work of great skill and great compassion. From the Hardcover edition
Cataloging source
RECBK
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Palka, Kurt
Dewey number
C813/.54
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR9199.3.P316
Literary form
unknown
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Memory in old age
  • Widows
  • Fiction
  • FICTION
  • Memory in old age
  • Widows
  • Europe
  • Europe
Label
Clara, Kurt Palka
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Note
Title from resource description page (Recorded Books, viewed June 19, 2014)
Antecedent source
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780771071300
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
  • 449542
  • 6dedda42-d24a-4a46-a302-0803aef5e1cf
Publisher number
EB00319434
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
  • (OCoLC)883351526
  • ocn883351526
Label
Clara, Kurt Palka
Link
Publication
Note
Title from resource description page (Recorded Books, viewed June 19, 2014)
Antecedent source
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780771071300
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
  • 449542
  • 6dedda42-d24a-4a46-a302-0803aef5e1cf
Publisher number
EB00319434
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
  • (OCoLC)883351526
  • ocn883351526
Processing Feedback ...