Coverart for item
The Resource Anna and the Swallow Man, Gavriel Savit, (electronic resource)

Anna and the Swallow Man, Gavriel Savit, (electronic resource)

Label
Anna and the Swallow Man
Title
Anna and the Swallow Man
Statement of responsibility
Gavriel Savit
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A stunning, literary, and wholly original debut novel set in Poland during the Second World War perfect for readers of The Book Thief. Krak?w, 1939. A million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. This is no place to grow up. Anna Łania is just seven years old when the Germans take her father, a linguistics professor, during their purge of intellectuals in Poland. She's alone. And then Anna meets the Swallow Man. He is a mystery, strange and tall, a skilled deceiver with more than a little magic up his sleeve. And when the soldiers in the streets look at him, they see what he wants them to see. The Swallow Man is not Anna's father--she knows that very well--but she also knows that, like her father, he's in danger of being taken, and like her father, he has a gift for languages: Polish, Russian, German, Yiddish, even Bird. When he summons a bright, beautiful swallow down to his hand to stop her from crying, Anna is entranced. She follows him into the wilderness. Over the course of their travels together, Anna and the Swallow Man will dodge bombs, tame soldiers, and even, despite their better judgment, make a friend. But in a world gone mad, everything can prove dangerous. Even the Swallow Man. Destined to become a classic, Gavriel Savit's stunning debut reveals life's hardest lessons while celebrating its miraculous possibilities
Cataloging source
B@L
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Savit, Gavriel
Dewey number
[Fic]
Index
no index present
LC call number
PZ7.1.S28
LC item number
An 2016eb
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Occupation of Poland (1939-1945)
  • World War (1939-1945)
  • Historical Fiction
  • Young Adult Fiction
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • Survival
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • Survival
  • Survival
  • Poland
  • Poland
  • Poland
Label
Anna and the Swallow Man, Gavriel Savit, (electronic resource)
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource.
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780553522075
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
d0632d74-a07d-4f73-8dd4-f2667a48fc0f
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
System control number
  • (OCoLC)933510578
  • (OCoLC)ocn933510578
Label
Anna and the Swallow Man, Gavriel Savit, (electronic resource)
Link
Publication
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource.
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780553522075
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
d0632d74-a07d-4f73-8dd4-f2667a48fc0f
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
System control number
  • (OCoLC)933510578
  • (OCoLC)ocn933510578
Processing Feedback ...